An Act of Service

Recently I was invited to be a guest speaker at the Cabarrus Rotary Club.   This was my first introduction to the organization and I was pleased to learn of their creed and value system:

The Object of Rotary is to encourage and foster the ideal of service as a basis of worthy enterprise and, in particular, to encourage and foster:

FIRST: The development of acquaintance as an opportunity for service;

SECOND: High ethical standards in business and professions, the recognition of the worthiness of all useful occupations, and the dignifying of each Rotarian’s occupation as an opportunity to serve society;

THIRD: The application of the ideal of service in each Rotarian’s personal, business, and community life;

FOURTH: The advancement of international understanding, goodwill, and peace through a world fellowship of business and professional persons united in the ideal of service.

I opened my presentation by stating some of my core beliefs: Service to God, Country and Family; explaining that my parents were the primary influence in instilling me with these values.  I talked about how my business was involved in the community through some of our current initiatives like the Dancing for the Arts project and our Thriller Food Drive.  This brought up a number of interested inquiries from the audience and I was glad to see that many had heard of the projects and were already planning to support the events.

A request to teach a few dance steps was part of my presentation and I was pleased to see about 20 members join me to learn the basic salsa step and the Cupid Shuffle line dance.

I wrapped up by answering audience questions and thanking the Rotary for allowing me to visit with them.  It was an enjoyable experience and I could see that some valuable community connections were made.  Great people and a great experience, I look forward to additional partnerships in the future.

Leave a Reply

