Dancing for the Arts 2015 – part 2

My project with the Cabarrus Arts Council, called “Dancing for the Arts”, is hitting the mid-way point as we head into October.  Our Stars have been working very hard on their choreography.  Most are able to completely walk through their routines with almost perfect timing. Due to this commitment, we now have about six practices to really focus on the small things, like dance posture, balance, and styling.

I can see the show starting to come together and it is very exciting!  Our Stars seem to be very excited as well, which makes me happy.  The competitive side in many of them are coming out.  They want to win and are putting in the effort to do their part, which means they are raising money.   Many of them have found ways to promote themselves through Facebook or other means.  It is really great to see them so involved and I know the project will be a big success.

We receive daily inquiries about the show and what people can expect.  I thought you might enjoy reading about what each Star will dancing in the show.

Donna Carpenter will perform a Cha-Cha Freestyle

George Griffith will perform an American Tango

Phyllis Wingate will perform a Samba

Mike Anderson will perform a Waltz

Dick Snyder will perform a Foxtrot

Sarah Morrison will perform an East Coast Swing

Scott Padgett will perform a Hip Hop routine

McKenzie Faggart will perform with her dance team

Tickets are still available, but they are going fast.  Look for me to post more updates on project in the coming weeks.

2 Comments on “Dancing for the Arts 2015 – part 2

  1. Hi Ryan,
    Hope all is going well!
    Remember me, I think I perhaps was one, of some, of the first students that you taught…….
    We met over there off 24 – 27, across from ice cream place, and the back room of a beauty /hair salon…….
    Anyway, congratulations on the new dance studio, and each time I pass it, I mean to stop! Going to stop one evening and who knows may even see if my knee will allow me to take some lessons again.
    I sat here on this overcast Sunday and opened each of the dancers summaries, and watched those they had a little blip showing them dance. ( I guess you would call my critiques of each, the “couch ref or coach”)!
    Do the same thing with “Dancing with the Stars” each Monday evening….and even usually predict the winner and runner ups!
    I love ball room dancing, and did it for a long time, but then life, work and animals (horses) seem to get in the way.
    Hope to attend the show, and will certainly stop in and see you all, real soon.
    Take care and good luck with the show.
    Cathy Wilkins
    Duke Energy

    • Hi Cathy,
      We have certainly come along way from those days in Midland. We hope you will come out and join us for the DFTA show or other upcoming events.

Leave a Reply

