Reaching for the Stars

It was one year ago this month (July) that the realization of a dream took form.   I was signing a lease and making plans to build out a space for a dance studio.   We spent an entire month renovating and by the end of August, we had finally opened our doors.  As I look back at the previous year, I can say that we have come a long way, but we are just getting started as the best is yet to come.

In May I completed my tenth “Dancing with the Stars” styled competition and with that came a desire to stretch myself in other new directions.  No, I was not looking to stop doing these types of performances, but I did have a desire to be more involved with the show than just as a performer.  I wondered what it would be like to be one of the producers or creative director.  I decided to engage some of the local organizations in the Concord area to see if anyone had an interest in putting on a show to benefit a local charity.

I end up finding a partner in the Cabarrus Arts Council.  They had been kicking around a similar idea, but needed someone to help get the ball rolling.  We discussed a partnership, they would handle the fundraising and facilities, and I would put together the show and train the cast.

It’s going to be an exciting event and I look forward to the new challenges and opportunities that this partnership will bring.  Preparations are already underway.  I will have more updates for you as the event unfolds.

Are you excited to hear about an event this this coming to Cabarrus County?  Please leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

