There is nothing impossible to him (or her) who will try.

C.S. Lewis once wrote, “You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.”

On November 19th, 2014 I said goodbye to a company that I had been employed with for a little over 26 years.  Was I fired?  No.   Did I retire?  Not even close.  (way too young for that) Did I win the lottery?  That would be nice, but no.

I resigned.  The time to reach for my dreams and follow my passion has finally arrived.  Those who have been reading my last several blog entries know that I recently opened my first “brick and mortar” dance studio.  This was a goal that has taken me ten years to reach and I have decided to jump in with both feet.

Co-workers called my move inspiring and I certainly hope that it does inspire people to do more with their own natural talents.  Inspiration can only carry you so far, for it also takes action on a person’s part to make dreams become a true reality.  So often I think that we lose sight of our dreams.  “Normal Reality” comes charging in, beating us down, and telling us that life is not easy.

In a way, that is true.  Life is not easy for most of us, but should that keep us from dreaming?  I believe that if it were not for our dreams, we would be a miserable lot.  Our dreams keep us sane.  So why do so many us not put forth the effort to follow them?

Could it be that we do not know how to set the proper goals?  Just a quick Google search produced an unlimited amount of resources on proper goal setting.  What about time to devote to the goal?  Hmmm, well here is a thought – do we not usually make time for those things that we really want to do?  Yes, we do.  This is not a good excuse.  What it really comes down to is how badly we want to reach that dream.  What are we willing to give up to obtain it?  At the very least we have to be willing to step outside of our normal comfort zone to make an attempt.

Ask yourself the following questions.  Answer them honestly and with some consideration.  It may take some time to answer them fully, so be ready to be patient with yourself.

  • What do I really want?
  • Why do I want it?
  • Will achieving it help me live a better life financially, physically and emotionally?
  • Will it help me grow and learn, becoming a better person overall?

When you can answer these four simple questions honestly with yourself, you can set goals to achieve your true passion in life and fulfill your dream.

Alexander the Great once said, “There is nothing impossible to him who will try.”

I hope that you will take the time to reach for your dreams, for you will not know what can be accomplished until you do.

Leave a Reply

