Music has a way of helping us remember…

Greetings Dance Friends,

I was having dinner with my family Sunday evening and realize that the countdown as already begun.  When did it become a standard that stores start pushing the Christmas holidays the first of October?  Ok, so I’m a little behind the times, it probably has been happening for many years and I just elected to ignore it.  So, I will refrain from reminding you that the studio has gift certificates for group or private lessons and that they make GREAT Holiday gifts for friends and loved ones.  I will also not mention that a Gift Certificate for a friend, spouse, boyfriend or girlfriend could also mean discounts toward your dance tuition.  No, I will wait before telling you that gift certificates are available for purchase through our website or in person at the studio.  🙂

Friday night Mary and I attended the Charlotte Symphony for the first time in many years. 

I use to be a regular season ticket holder for the Broadway Lights, which is the Broadway show season.  Like everything else, you make choices on where to spend your money and I found dancing to me more entertaining for me.  What can I say…?  I have always been more of a participant that an observer.

WOW, have you been uptown lately?  It has completely changed.  There are tons of new restaurants and other activities.  However, I digress because we were talking about the Symphony.  The evening had a distinctive Spanish feel to it. The various works the orchestra played were designed or modified to feature the violin.  One of my all-time favorite operas is “Carmen”.  I was happy that one of its most well-known songs “Habanera” was a feature during the evening.  Violinist Calin Ovidiu Lupanu showed a true master’s touch as he played a solo throughout the song, being the voice of the piece.  This artist did things with a bow and strings that was simply amazing to watch.  It was humbling to see a true master artist at work.  Another piece that was featured during the evening was music from the ballet “Bolero”.  The piece lasted around 20 minutes and it contained a snare drum part that had to be played very precisely.  Having played the drums with a band several years back, it can be very tiring work.  This musician had to play standing up and carry the tempo completely throughout the whole 20 minutes.  I was amazed at his discipline and stamina.  Another fantastic part of the piece was the way the rest of the instruments layered the music.  The piece started with low horns and brass, then slowly adding higher pitched instruments finally building to a rousing overture with the entire orchestra playing.

Music has a way of helping us remember events and special times. 

When I heard “Habanera” begin, it took me back to one of my last performances as an amateur dancer.  My partner and I had put together a Paso Doble routine to the song.  In the routine, I was performing a cape solo during the first part of the song, which generally starts out slowly.  During the second part of the song, the music picks up and becomes faster.  At this point my partner enters and we start dancing together.  Part of the styling of Paso Doble is that the lady acts as a cape for the man.  So as you might imagine, she became the “cape” during the second part of the song.  Though I loved that routine, for social dancing I always found that Tango fit the music very well.  You’ll have a chance to hear “Habanera” during our Tango class coming up in just a few months.

That is all for this session, we hope you like the new format.  Check back for more interesting thoughts on music and dance right here at the Social Dancing for Adults blog.

Thanks!
Ryan

www.PositivelyBallroom.com
Info@PositivelyBallrooom.com

Leave a Reply

